What’s the Matter? Don’t You Trust Me?

Being the TV junkie that I am, I look forward to a night on the couch glued to the tube. I watched the news, did lots of flipping, and then I remembered the premiere of TNT’s new show all about the glitz and glamor of the advertising industry,”Trust Me“. If you ask me, I think it’s got potential. The cast isn’t too shabby either, with Eric McCormack of Will & Grace fame as well as Tom Cavanagh from Ed. Throw in the producers from Nip/Tuck and The Closer and you’ve got yourself a show.

The Chicago-based agency Rothman, Greene & Mohr is fictitious, but they include real name agencies in the show, such as DDB and Leo Burnett. Interesting factoid regarding product placement. Unilever, a major sponsor of the show, plan to have Dove hair care products all throughout the series.

Ahhh, the big city (or not-so-big-city) advertising agency life. Late nights working on campaigns, client pitches, internal politics, and maniacal creative directors to boot. If you watched it last night, then I’m sure there are plenty of you out there who can relate and know exactly what I’m talking about. 🙂 I’ve been here at Mason for just about 7 years now and we’re a full service agency that does it all – advertising, public relations, interactive, social media, you name it. Although I work in the public relations group, I easily related to lots of things going on in the show last night.

So as a PR guy, I found the title of the new show interesting and am probably over thinking it. “Trust Me”. Does it imply that we, as consumers, should just trust the ads, billboards, radio spots, and web banners, no matter what they say? I’m curious to see if the public relations profession will make an appearance in the series as the show develops. Food for thought. It’s a show that makes you think about where we get these tag lines and jingles, but more importantly, it’s a show that does a great job of entertaining you. Check it out if you can. Approved.

Leave a Reply

